It Started with a Tweet

In celebration of the Philippines’ Independence Day yesterday, a bunch of people took to Twitter and used the #RP612fic hashtag to create nationalistic fan fiction. It was a fun creative exercise that saw the Rage Virus coming from the Galleon Trade, Jedi Master Rizal, and a horrifying secret hiding underneath Apolinario Mabini’s blanket, among other great ideas. I came up with something myself, but it grew into something much, much longer than 140 characters.

I’m not 100% sure I’m happy with it, so I’d really appreciate some comments. You can read it at fictionthing, here.

I basically took the characters of Jose Rizal and Andres Bonifacio and wound them tighter together, while at the same time trying to keep the contrasts in their philosophies intact. I did quite a bit of research to make it sound plausible, so any inaccuracies not attributed to the plot just mean I didn’t research well enough. 😛

This entry was posted in Attempts at Being a "Writer" Writer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

