An Hour a Day

With all the writing that I do, I tend to forget that drawing was my first passion. The “Doodling” in that blog name up there is more important to me than you think. In fact, when I was very, very little, I had decided that me and my brother would start our own comics company; he’d take care of the writing, and I’d draw the pictures that went along with the stories.

It took a few years (and some generous ripping off borrowing of my brother’s style at first) until I realized I could write pretty darn well, too. I remember making my first few comics back when I was around 4 or 5. The stories were pretty much standard fighting game fare (i.e. ree-donk-you-lous), and my fighters mysteriously lost all the joints in their bodies whenever I drew them. I eventually got better at both; by around 7 or 8 years old, I was crafting surprisingly complex stories for my age, and my characters had knees to bend.

The thing is, among all of my talents (there aren’t many, mind you), it’s drawing that I’m most insecure about. Part of it was the emotional shock of being rejected from the art club back when I was in first grade, and part of it was that to this day, I’ve never really received any formal training in art. I can’t draw in perspective, my anatomy is wonky, and I can’t shade for shit.

I doodle from time to time, but I don’t really share my work all that much. Lauren seems to be the only person I feel comfortable enough showing drawings to, and she’s likely gotten sick of my insecurity. I’m guessing that’s why she gave me some really sound advice: Practice drawing at least an hour a day, ’cause it’s the only way I’ll ever get better.

I gave it a shot today, and I’m really glad I did. In fact, I feel emboldened enough to show a work in progress right now:

I drew this to practice three things: poses, females, and working on a graphic tablet. It’s still in the rough sketch phase, but there’s a reason for that, too: I’m stuck.

The vibrant young lady you see up there is supposed to be a fairy, but I can’t decide what sort of wings to give her. Do you guys think I should give her butterfly wings, or generic insect wings? Also, what sort of hair should I give her? A long flowing mane, or a cute little pixie cut? Should she be blonde or brunette?

I’m also considering using her as part of fictionthing’s design. I dunno, it seems right to put some sort of fantastical creature in the layout. Do you guys think this is a good idea?

Sorry for all the questions, by the way. It’s the insecurity talking. I’m still pretty shy about my work. πŸ˜›

This entry was posted in Doodles and Drawings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Hour a Day

  1. Not sure about future placements, but I’d love to see the finished product of this sketch. Trying to get my sketch groove back via my iPad and a chepepay stylus myself.

    • Marco says:

      How’s that working out for you? I find that I can’t get the same amount of control I want digitally than I do with good old pencil and paper, hence the really dirty lines.

  2. IO says:

    Airplane wings? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

