HOLY SHIT THE STONE TEMPLE PILOTS HOLY SHIT

Last night, I realized a lifelong dream – to see the Stone Temple Pilots live. I could write about how much I love them, how much their music means to me. I could write about my epic journey to see them, in which I traveled to five different cities to get to the concert. I could write about what it felt like to be in their presence after being a fan for as long as I can remember.

Instead, I’m going to write about kindness; in particular, the kindness of a total stranger. See, I didn’t think I was ever going to see STP. It was a total surprise, in fact, that they came to Manila at all. Unfortunately, I couldn’t afford any tickets. On the days leading up to the concert, I joined a shitload of contests, hoping I might luck out in one of them and get to bask in STP’s presence. I lost all of them.

One of the contests was from Anton Diaz of Our Awesome Planet. He asked us to email him about why we deserved to see STP live. I poured my guts out, telling him how STP helped define my youth, and how being at the concert was my way of silently thanking them for being there.

I lost the contest.

On the day of the concert, though, Anton sent me an email asking if I was still game to see the show. He said my answer touched him, and he wanted to give me his own tickets. HIS OWN TICKETS. I giddily accepted the offer, met with his lovely wife, and set out to see one of my life icons in the flesh.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to pay Anton back for his kindness. What I can do, though, is pay it forward. I don’t know how I’m going to do it, but I will. Thank you, Anton, for allowing me the privilege of seeing the Stone Temple Pilots.

As for the concert? FUCKING HELL IT WAS AMAZING.

Lauren and I were actually seated a little further and to the side of the stage, but we jumped to about 4th to 6th row center because fuck it, that’s rock n’ roll. I belted out Plush at the top of my lungs despite having an incredibly sore throat. Me, Lauren, and the girl beside me were a three-person mosh pit for most of the concert, since Filipinos seem to be strangely well-behaved at rock concerts. I killed my calves jumping around like a maniac. It was everything I fucking dreamed of. My cousin cried. Her boyfriend was speechless. Lauren was exhausted, in a good way. It didn’t sink in for me until shortly after the concert, and I was shell-shocked for a long, long time. I’m still pretty high from the experience. All that’s been running through my mind since is “Holy shit. That just happened.”

Thank you, Eric Kretz.

Thank you, Robert DeLeo.

Thank you, Dean DeLeo.

Thank you, Scott Weiland.

THANK YOU, STONE TEMPLE PILOTS!!! YOU FUCKING ROCK!!!

This entry was posted in Good Times. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HOLY SHIT THE STONE TEMPLE PILOTS HOLY SHIT

  1. Ade says:

    Holy wow, that was nice of Anton! Also, ENVIOUS.

Leave a Reply

